A Networking Drought

The Beginning

With my cell phone continuously holstered at my hip I have officially become the 21st century cowboy. No matter what obstacle comes my way, I simply brandish my UT Starcom XV6800 and watch as they disappear. When I was lost, I fretted not for I had GPS. When my arms were taken in an unfortunate shark attack, I relied on a very capable voice command and when I was mugged I merely executed a quick draw, chucked the cell phone into the face of the would-be assailant, and ran for my dear life. (I had accidental insurance and bionic arms)

Unfortunately, my insurance was canceled and I, for a month, experienced a networking drought. This is when I discovered how reliant I was, or at least thought I was, on my cell phone. Ever hour I would call my number from a land line and check my voice mail, even though few people I knew ever left one. I posted Facebook status after status telling my 600 + friends that I was without a phone and if they needed to contact me they should do it through email yet only a handful did.

A week into this drought a realization hit me. Not many people cared that I was without a phone. Those who hadn’t called me before I lost my mobile most likely wouldn’t call afterwards. The friends that didn’t return my Facebook wall posts probably would not go to the extent of texting me and the individuals that I actually knew and liked were the people I interacted with on a day to day basis.

I came to understand that my cell phone and Facebook alike were meant as extensions of my social life and I had been using them as substitutes. The reason nobody responded to my forwarded texts or statuses is because even though they were on my friends list, they didn’t know me. They wouldn’t recognize me if I was sitting right next to them and they wouldn’t say hello if they did.

In truth I wasn’t even experiencing a networking drought. I was experiencing a revelation that I did not need my cell phone and Facebook to connect.

To Be Continued…

    • Christina Burcelis
    • February 5th, 2010

    hahahahah omg i totally relate ! hahahahah ❤

  1. I really resonate with this line:

    “I came to understand that my cell phone and Facebook alike were meant as extensions of my social life and I had been using them as substitutes.”

    It’s pretty dang easy to forget that. I’m all about leveraging online social networking tools, but to replace real interaction with that stuff is definitely no good (not to mention unfulfilling, especially when you’re in a situation like yours which brings that realization!).

    • I interviewed an older gentleman for this post and when I said that line he look me in the eye and said this.

      “When I tell my grandson to go play outside he looks at me confused and has no comprehension of what that means.”

      He made it obvious that he did not believe that it was just me that was using social networks and the sort as substitutes but the American society in general.

      I didn’t believe him until I realized that that the game Second Life exists and is thriving.

      • When I was a child, I got a GameBoy for my birthday. Instantly addicted to Tetris, it soon became the rule that I was only allowed to play it outside.

        Eventually, I saw the light – I put down the controller and went for a bike ride with my dog.

        It scares me how many people are missing out on their lives because they are inside “connecting” via the web.

        A few weeks ago, when Mass Effect 2 came out, one of my friends skipped all his classes, meals, extra curricular activities, etc. and played that game for 18 hours straight.

        South Korea’s gaming craze has hit the states.

        • I do not believe South Korea’s gaming craze has hit the states. I recently watched a documentary by Night Line and the craze/addiction displayed on it is far more advanced than anything America has.

          I do believe we as America are beginning to lose what made us unique and that is our “Western Way of Thinking”

          We use to be hated and loved by the rest of the world by the way we thought and our values. Now it seems as if we are just refusing to think in place of being stimulated by games and technology.

    • lifestartsnow
    • February 6th, 2010

    hey, thanks for stopping by on my blog.

    nice post. do you really know these 600+ people on your facebook?

    i use FB mostly to connect with friends overseas with whom i can’t just go out for a drink. facebook as subsitute for real life? no way!

    franzi

    • I traveled a lot and went to a plethora of conferences so I met hundreds if not thousands of people. So I just added them onto my friends list…even if I didn’t really like them.

      I now realize that that was a bad decision because I now had too many people seeing my information.

      I recently made a new Facebook and I am trying to keep it to people I actually know.

  2. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that
    I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  4. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a
    similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  5. Hello, this weekend is nice designed for me, since this moment
    i am reading this enormous educational paragraph
    here at my home.

  6. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it.
    I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

  7. That is really fascinating, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking extra of your great post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social
    networks

  8. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I opted in for your Feed too.

  9. Hello everyone, it’s my first go too see at this weeb site,
    and article is really fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of posts.

  1. February 10th, 2010

Leave a Reply

